Disability Wales

The national association of disabled people's organisations

Disability Wales - your first port of call for information, comment, opinion and opportunities for getting involved in campaigning for disability equality.

Members' Login

Become a member and join the discussion.
Membership Page

About Us

Disability Wales is an independent, not for profit organisation established in 1972. We are a membership organisation of disability groups and allies from across Wales.

We occupy a unique position within Wales by championing the rights, equality and independence of all disabled people regardless of physical or sensory impairment, learning difficulty or mental health condition. We recognise that many disabled people have many identities and can face multiple-discrimination.

We work to the Social Model of Disability which recognises that people are disabled more by poor design, inaccessible services and other people’s attitudes than by their impairment.

We are recognised as the lead organisation in Wales in promoting the understanding, adoption and implementation of the Social Model of Disability.

We have provided a model to other disability organisations in Wales on how a traditional organisation set up for disabled people can transform itself to become one that is of disabled people.

We work with all areas of government – local, Assembly, Westminster and Europe – developing policy, campaigning, lobbying, challenging…

We are managed by a voluntary Board of Directors, elected and drawn from disabled people across Wales who are active in local and national disability organisations. Any person nominated and elected to the Board of Directors must be a disabled person.

Who funds us?

Our core funding is from the National Assembly for Wales under Section 64 of the Health Service and Public Health Act 1968 and Section 28B of the National Health Service Act 1977. The grant is on a three-year basis.


The Regional Areas in Wales:

Map of Wales showing the 22 regional areas
Table showing the 22 regional areas of Wales used by Disability Wales and recognised by the Welsh Assembly Government
North East North West North West South East
1.Flintshire 4.Anglesey 9.Carmarthenshire 13. Cardiff
2.Denbighshire 5.Gwynedd 10.Pembrokeshire 14.Caerphilly
3.Wrexham 6.Conwy Central 11.Swansea 15.Vale of Glamorgan
7.Powys 12.Neath Port Talbot 16.Rhondda Cynon Taff
8.Ceredigion 17.Torfaen
20.Blaenau Gwent
21.Merthyr Tydfil